Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.





Released: 30th Jun 2017



Released: 30th Jun 2017


another essential reissue from the Nigerian archives, this is the first ever international release for the essential Afro-funk LP rarity.

As part of the St Gregory’s student band scene in Lagos during the late ‘70s, Apples were picked up and produced by legendary EMI Nigeria producer Odion Iruoje who added overdubs to the album at Abbey Road. The band met and formed in Lagos. Bandleader Frank Ikpefuran teamed up with Georges Vieira from the American School and brothers Clifford and Gerard Nagi who were studying at “St Greg’s” in Lagos, and remembers, “…the band had a natural sound, which stemmed from the chemistry we had. It was a strange chemistry, we were an odd combination from different backgrounds but when we played, something happened…” For a young band, Iruoje was surprised by the quality of the band, adding in extra keyboard parts from Lemmy Udofia and Francis Monkman. This definitive edition of Apples’ ‘Mind Twister’ features new interviews with bandleader Frank Ikpefuran and producer Odion Iruoje and has been fully remastered.



  1. Mother
  2. Deep Funk
  3. Try Me
  4. Lay On The Ground
  5. Mind Twister
  6. Don’T Drive Me Out
  7. You
  8. Time For Me To Go