Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Gretchen Peters

Dancing With The Beast



Released: 18th May 2018


a proudly provocative set of feminist bangers – ‘Dancing with the Beast’, the new album from Gretchen Peters, puts female characters at the fore, from teenage girls to old women.

With the 2017 Women’s March and the #MeToo Movement as bookends to her writing time, Peters knew that a feminist perspective would be the critical core of the record. She admits, “You can trace the feminist DNA in my songwriting back to ‘Independence Day’ and probably before. The thing that 2017 did is just put it front and centre. Whether a single sentence or a simple setting, once planted, even the tiniest seed can grow into a vision unto itself. Strung together and populated with strong and broken female heroines, those vignettes make up ‘Dancing with the Beast’ and, indeed, Peters’ entire discography.

Dancing With The Beast


  1. Arguing With Ghosts
  2. Wichita
  3. The Boy From Rye
  4. Disappearing Act
  5. Lowlands
  6. The Show
  7. Dancing With The Beast
  8. Truckstop Angel
  9. Say Grace
  10. Lay Low
  11. Love That Makes A Cup Of Tea