Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


dance (2018 reissue)


purple 2lp + download

Released: 19th Jan 2018


Dance was Gary Numan’s fifth studio album and was released in 1981.

We are excited to reissue this album on double purple vinyl. The original 50 minute album was cut onto a single LP with a resulting compression and compromise to the sound. For this new edition, the tracks have been mastered over three sides for improved fidelity and the fourth side contains relevant singles, B-sides and an out-take. Additionally the previously unreleased, full length version of “Moral” has been used to close out the original album. The double LP will be released on purple vinyl in an adapted, color-corrected gatefold jacket with two printed inner sleeves. Transferred from the analogue tapes at Loud Mastering, the original album is also available in 96khz/24 bit high resolution digital. Dance makes a notable effort by Gary Numan to step away from the synth-pop he was famous for, and experiment with something a little more jazzier, saxophones and all. Guests on the album include guitarist Rob Dean and (fretless) bassist/saxophonist Mick Karn of Japan, drummer Roger Taylor of Queen, keyboardist Roger Mason of Australian band Models, and Canadian alternative musician Nash the Slash.

dance (2018 reissue)


  1. Slowcar to China
  2. Night Talk
  3. A Subway Called 'You'
  4. Cry the Clock Said
  5. She's Got Claws
  6. Crash
  7. Boys Like Me
  8. Stories
  9. My Brother's Time
  10. You Are, You Are
  11. Moral (Extended Version)
  12. Stormtrooper In Drag
  13. Face To Face
  14. Dance
  15. Exhibition
  16. I Sing Rain