Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


Mellow Waves



Released: 26th Jan 2018


lp + download

Released: 26th Jan 2018


limited edition 140g white lp + pop-up gatefold + phenakistoscope animation insert + download

Released: 26th Jan 2018


a first album in 11 years for the Japanese producer sees his midas touch intact across a salubrious mix of playful electronica, jazzy post-rock, and understated pop.

For the uninitiated, Cornelius is the brainchild of Japanese multi-instrumentalist Keigo Oyamada, hailed as a "modern day Brian Wilson" on his emergence in the 1990’s for his orchestral-style arrangements and production techniques. this album is a stupidly enjoyable hodgepodge, with a rare sense of fun and ultimately relaxing overall effect. Only a few artists have managed to tread that rare line (kraftwerk, stereolab), and in their absence this album stands up as essential listening. “aims for the glowing emotional core of his playful, retro-futuristic aesthetic... Keigo Oyamada continues to be some kind of genius, though happily still undecided about which kind” 7.7 – pitchfork, “a perfect encapsulation of his art. Languorous, gentle, slightly off beat, its discordancy is offset by gorgeous harmonies sung with customary fragility” 8/10 – record collector

***limited deluxe edition pop-up gatefold vinyl (including phenakistoscope animation insert)***

Mellow Waves


  1. If You’re Here
  2. Sometime Someplace
  3. Dear Future Person
  4. Surfing on Mind Wave
  5. In a Dream
  6. Helix_Spiral
  7. Mellow Yellow Feel
  8. The Spell of Vanishing Loveliness
  9. The Rain Song
  10. Crepuscule