Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Marcus Hamblett



cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 15th Nov 2019


limited transparent yellow lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 15th Nov 2019


Brighton based multi-instrumentalist Marcus Hamblett announces second album ‘Detritus’.

’ The album is a technicolor collage of genres, absorbing elements of electronic music, jazz, post-rock and modern composition. Originally written back in 2006 for guitar, flute and clarinet, this iteration of ‘Lost At Sea’ came about when Hamblett recorded album drummer Tom Heather playing in a soundcheck at The Lexington in London: “This song is a sort of cornerstone of the record, the idea of ‘detritus’, all the broken off crumbs, dust, leftovers that ended up staying in. I’ve known Kate Stables for a long time, I think initially through her friends Rachael Dadd and Rozi Plain, and now I sometimes play brass occasionally electric guitar with This Is The Kit. I’m so glad she did the vocals for this so I could bury mine.” Detritus is the second solo album from Brighton based musician Marcus Hamblett. It features an all star cast of Hamblett’s musical accomplices including James Holden (with whom Hamblett plays in his band The Animal Spirits), Kate Stables (who Hamblett plays cornet with, in her band This Is The Kit) and Colin Stetson (who Marcus just asked nicely by email). Hamblett is also a member of many other bands and has worked as a producer, arranger or instrumentalist with countless others including Villagers, James Holden & The Animal Spirits, Fear of Men, Laura Marling, The Staves, Lucy Rose, Rozi Plain, Bear’s Den, Willy Mason, Broken Social Scene, Wovoka Gentle and Christof van der Ven



  1. Lost At Sea (feat. Kate Stables)
  2. Ghost Socks
  3. The Warren (part I)
  4. The Warren (part II)
  5. Gardner's Basement
  6. Vibraphone Piece