Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.



KOLA Records/!K7 Records

cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 8th Nov 2019


2lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 8th Nov 2019


Kele, founding member & lead singer of Bloc Party, today announces the release of his new solo album 2042, heralded by the visceral first single “Jungle Bunny”.

“There is a history of black entertainers feeling that after they have achieved a certain level of success that they are above discussions of race but that idea is a delusion,” says Kele. “As a person of colour living in the western world, it does not matter how much wealth one accumulates, race will follow you wherever you go. With JUNGLE BUNNY I wanted explore this idea: In a time of such rampant division and public racism, what is the responsibility of the black entertainer?" 2042 will be available from 8 November 2019 in digital, on CD and in limited edition 2xLP formats via Kele’s own label KOLA Records in association with !K7. 2042 is Kele’s fourth solo record and, following 2017’s largely acoustic Fatherland (released under his full name and featuring a duet with Olly Alexander from Years and Years), marks something of a return to the adrenalised electronics of his previous two solo records, Trick (2014) and The Boxer (2010), whilst broadening the sonic palette by bringing in elements of his work with Bloc Party and a litany of other influences and ideas. As an artist, Kele Okereke has never stood still, relentlessly seeking new ways in which to present his luminous songs. Whilst sonically markedly different from Fatherland, lyrically 2042 picks up a thread from that record whereby Kele’s life experiences and relationships suffuse the album with some of his most personal lyrics yet.



  1. Jungle Bunny
  2. Past Lives (Interlude)
  3. Let England Burn
  4. St Kaepernick Wept
  5. Guava Rubicon
  6. My Business
  7. Ceiling Games
  8. Where She Came From (Interlude)
  9. Between Me And My Maker
  10. Natural Hair (03:45)
  11. Cyril's Blood
  12. Secrets West 29th
  13. Catching Feelings
  14. A Day Of National Shame (Interlude)
  15. Ocean View
  16. Back Burner