Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

split cranium

I'm The Devil And I'm OK

Ipecac Recordings

limited red vinyl LP + download

Released: 25th May 2018


Split Cranium are Aaron Turner (Sumac, Old Man Gloom), Nate Newton (Converge, Doomriders, Old Man Gloom), Faith Coloccia (Mamiffer, Mara), Tomi Leppänen (Circle, KX- P) and Jussi Lehtisalo (Circle).

 Split Cranium return with their sophomore album ‘I’m The Devil And I’m OK’. Turner and Lehtisalo waste no time establishing their new mission statement, opening the album with Popol Vuh-inspired keyboards by Faith Coloccia (Mamiffer, Mara) that saturate the ruthless reinterpretation of the Discharge template on ‘Evil Hands’. The contrasting breaths of sublime ambience serve to highlight the savagery abetted by bassist Nate Newton (Converge, Doomriders, Old Man Gloom) and Tomi Leppänen (Circle, K-X-P), making ‘I’m The Devil And I’m Okay’ simultaneously more sonically rounded and more visceral and vicious. “We wanted to make a record that was less straightforward than the first one,” Turner says of their method. “Jussi loves melody and I love dissonance and noise, so that is probably the healthy creative contrast that made this record what it is.”  The components that knock ‘I’m The Devil And I’m OK’ off the axis of traditional d-beat hardcore. The strongest records in the anarcho-punk canon have figured out ways to inject melody or push extremes without diffusing their punch or diminishing their hooks. Split Cranium retain the principal components of speed and vitriol while expanding their frequency spectrum into realms of both beauty and sheer ugliness.

I'm The Devil And I'm OK


  1. Evil Hands
  2. The Age of Embitterment
  3. Wet Shadow
  4. Ingurgitated Liquids
  5. Whirling Dusk
  6. Pain of Innocence
  7. Blood Boiler
  8. Death Bed - The Yellow Room
  9. Heavy Daughter
  10. I'm The Devil and I'm OK