Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Townes Van Zandt

Flyin' Shoes (2016 reissue)



Released: 8th Jan 2016


Townes Van Zandt's 1978 debut studio album for Tomato Records was produced by the legendary Chips Moman at Nashville's American Studios & contains some of the Texas troubadour's strongest songs: 'When She Don't Need Me', 'Loretta', 'No Place To Fall' (later a Townes duet with Willie Nelson) and the haunting title track, plus an inspired cover of Bo Diddley's 'Who Do You Love'.

This rerelease features a replica LP sleeve with original Milton Glaser designed artwork and Wood Newton photography, together with a 16-page fully illustrated CD booklet with sleeve notes by Lola Scobey featuring a rare Townes Van Zandt interview, photos and complete lyrics. The death of Townes Van Zandt in 1997 at age 52 robbed the world of a troubled genius as well as one of America's finest songwriters. While his albums never sold in large quantaties, his reputation and popularity has grown greater by the year inspiring books, a documentary and renewed interest from the media, passionatly loyal fans and contemporaries such as Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and Emmylou Harris who have covered his songs to the upper-reaches of the American charts. "From Neil Young and Willie Nelson, Bono and Bob Dylan (who reportedly once said that Townes was "in some ways the better writer") to Tindersticks and Mudhoney, songwriters and musicians speak of Townes with reverence." - Mojo Magazine. "He was the best songwriter and most riveting solo performer I've ever seen." - Steve Earle. "An effortless masterclass in emotionally effecting Americana". - Record Collector.

Flyin' Shoes (2016 reissue)


  1. Loretta
  2. No Place To Fall
  3. Flyin' Shoes
  4. Who Do You Love?
  5. When She Don't Need Me
  6. Dollar Bill Blues
  7. Rex's Blues
  8. Pueblo Waltz
  9. Brother Flower
  10. Snake Song