Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

tenderlonious & dennis ayler

brick city



Released: 20th Oct 2017


these ten cuts take the listener on a journey through Afro-House, Funk, Jazz, Rare Groove, Boogie and Broken Beat, making use of some virtuosic flautistry along the way.

 “Brick City (4am)” and “Butterfly” groove effortlessly whilst synth leads interject over tasty chords, all the while being supported by solid bass lines - these two will undoubtedly set a strong pace on the dancefloor. ‘Be Ur Friend’ is a fiery Afro-House number - reminiscent of one of Tenderlonious’ early releases ‘Bob’s Riddim.’ There’s also more hip-hop inspired selections like ‘Brick City (4pm)’ or ‘Pepe’s Walk,’ which bump hard and have strong traces of Sa-Ra and J Dilla influence. It’s the kind of record you can play at home from start to finish or take out to the club as an essential dancefloor filler.

brick city


  1. Be Ur Friend
  2. Bootsy
  3. Funky Booda
  4. Smoke (Part Iv)
  5. Brick City (4pm)
  6. Butterfly
  7. Pepe’s Walk
  8. Ferndale Gateaux
  9. Untitled
  10. Brick City (4am)