Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Maciej Obara Quartet




Released: 3rd Nov 2017


the Polish alto sax player has crafted a beautiful album whose expressive range embraces tender lyricism and impassioned, fiery playing.

With the exception of the title track - written by Krzysztof Komeda (spiritus rector of modern jazz in Poland) for Janusz Nasfeter’s film of the same name – all themes are by the highly inventive alto saxophonist. Obara emphasises, however, that his themes “serve as outlines, from which our sound is set free. My friends are amazing improvisers. I love their ability to move around freely in open spaces, and the way they shape and give colour to what I have in mind... It’s more like composing in real time.”
we recommend if you like mark turner, chris potter, or donny mccaslin.



  1. Ula
  2. One For
  3. Joli Bord
  4. Unloved
  5. Sleepwalker
  6. Echoes
  7. Storyteller