Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Walter Smith III


whirlwind recordings


Released: 9th Feb 2018


With the release of ‘Article XI’, Manchester-based improviser and composer Anton ‘s second album as bandleader and first with his 11-piece improvising ensemble, he is set to enhance and cement a burgeoning reputation as one of the major emerging compositional and improvisational talents of the thriving UK scene.

Anton hand-picked some of Europe’s finest emerging improvisational voices for the 11 piece ensemble - notable names include celebrated Danish alto saxophonist Mette Rasmussen, Ripsaw Catfish duo partner Cath Roberts on baritone saxophone, longstanding collaborator Sam Andreae on tenor saxophone, Beats & Pieces bandmates Graham South and Nick Walters on trumpet, intriguing Finnish bassist Eero Tikkanen, and not forgetting younger brother Johnny Hunter on drums. ‘Article XI’ moves swiftly from relaxed grooves to raucous improv to thunderous riffs, always resulting in a collective identity that is somehow greater than its highly impressive individual parts. Named by Jazzwise magazine as an ensemble to watch, their debut album release confirms Article XI alongside labelmates Beats & Pieces Big Band as one of the most interesting large jazz ensembles currently active in the UK. “[Article XI] ties together disparate musical and thematic threads [with] grand, sweeping charts and modal moods that nonetheless find ample room for individual voices to be heard.” - Daniel Spicer, The Wire “Intoxicating... a triumph for creative jazz” - Adrian Pallant, London Jazz News



  1. Retaken
  2. Innards of Atoms
  3. I Dreamed I Spat Out A Bee
  4. C# Makes The World A Better Place
  5. Peaceful Assembly
  6. I Almost Told You
  7. Not The Kind Of Jazz You Like