Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Abstract Orchestra


ATA Records


Released: 29th Jun 2018

out of stock


Released: 29th Jun 2018


much like sly5thave’s tribute to dr dre, Abstract Orchestra’s  jazzed up interpretation of j dilla’s highly influential hip hop production is a stunning success.

championed by Gilles Peterson on his BBC6 Music radio show, "Dilla" by Abstract Orchestra generated a buzz since its inception in 2016. Led by Saxophonist Rob Mitchell, Abstract Orchestra seeks to reflect the diversity of music sampled by Hip-Hop producers by presenting music that has the complexity of jazz, framed within the simpler structures of Hip-Hop. Complex harmonies are framed within simple loops and complex bar structures and time signatures can pass by unnoticed. The band itself is based on the classic jazz big band instrumentation of saxes, trumpets and trombones. fans of kiefer’s cool jazz sound should check this out!



  1. Welcome to Detroit / The Diary
  2. Workinonit
  3. Stop
  4. Dilla Mix 1
  5. Dilla Mix 2
  6. Raw Shit
  7. Official / Fall in Love
  8. Fantastic
  9. Love
  10. So Far to Go
  11. A.N.G.E.L.
  12. Love Jones
  13. King
  14. Sun in My Face
  15. Two Can Win