Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

John Cameron

Kes – The Original Soundtrack' (2019 REPRESS)



Released: 1st Feb 2019


“The sound of long-lost childhood…The smell of a damp school cloakroom, from an age when comics were still printed on newsprint…But this is more than just a product of the nostalgia industry –put on this album and immediately you’ll be soaring through the air, free of your earth shackles; for this is the sound of a human soul in flight.

A beautiful daydream antidote to an all too real South Yorkshire nightmare. This is the real thing. This is beauty so fragile it hurts.” Jarvis Cocker. Kes by Ken Loach is one of the greatest British films of all time. It also has one of the finest soundtrack of the period. Put together by the incredibly talented John Cameron (the arranged for Donovan and great film score composer in his own right) this score sums up beautifully the freedom, innocence and tragedy put across in the film. With a crack British jazz line up including flute legend Harold McNair, Ronnie Ross (Bass Clarinet), Tony Carr (Drums), Danny Moss (Clarinet) and David Snell (Harp) this score not only appeals to the soundtrack collectors but also followers of the classic British jazz sound. Source material was the original John Cameron master, which had been slightly damaged at the front end, so there is a slight change in volume at the beginning of the LP. Nobody moaned back in 2001. Things might be different now. The score is only 19 minutes long and therefore fits perfectly onto a one-sided LP.

Kes – The Original  Soundtrack' (2019 REPRESS)


  1. Front Titles
  2. Billy’s Paper Round
  3. Dawn –Billy Sees The Tower
  4. Stealing The Book
  5. Midnight – Billy Climbs And Captures Kes
  6. Training Kes
  7. Kes First Flight
  8. Jud Walks To The Mine
  9. Kes Flies Free
  10. Kes Flies Higher
  11. Billy Alseep In The Boiler Room
  12. Foreboding
  13. Looking For Kes
  14. Realisation
  15. Burying Kes