Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Ed Harcourt

Beyond The End

Point of Departure


Released: 23rd Nov 2018


gatefold lp + download

Released: 23rd Nov 2018

out of stock

entering pastures new on his 8th album, ed strips things back to a fully instrumental set orbiting overwhelmingly emotive and articulate piano, with string and synth embellishments used sparingly at the perfect moments – few albums equal its vivid beauty out of such simplicity.

Something of a left-turn after its busy, big-screen predecessor, it sees the supremely versatile instrumentalist create a soft-spoken yet emotionally loquacious group of piano-led instrumentals, as if sound-tracking an as yet invisible film with a mesmerising, meditative calm. “I grew up listening to and playing Debussy, Satie, Mozart, Grieg, as well as modern composers like Max Richter, Philip Glass, Arvo Part. I also loved Warren Ellis (with whom Harcourt worked on Marianne Faithfull’s album, ‘negative capacity’)”. “former mercury nominee switches ‘furnaces’’ fury for meditative, recuperative serenity” 8/10 – uncut.

Beyond The End


  1. Diving Bell
  2. Wolves Change Rivers
  3. Duet For Ghosts
  4. Empress Of The Lake
  5. Keep Us Safe
  6. Faded Photographs
  7. For My Father
  8. For My Mother
  9. Beneath The Brine
  10. There Is Still A Fire
  11. Circling Red Kites
  12. Whiskey Held My Sleep To Ransom