Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

willie watson

Folksinger Vol 2

acony records


Released: 15th Sep 2017



Released: 15th Sep 2017


an organic authenticity permeates these traditional folk performances; as if we’re eavesdropping on him privately playing for his own gratification – immeasurably pleasurable.

Produced by David Rawlings and recorded on analogue tape at Woodland Sound Studios in Nashville, Tennessee, the album features eleven songs unearthed from the canon of American folk music and brought to light by Willie’s remarkable voice and wise beyond his years performances. Special guest appearances by the Fairfield Four, Gillian Welch, Morgan Jahnig and Paul Kowert round out the arrangements on this stunning sophomore collection. “above all, the universal motifs of loss, redemption and freedom from bondage are brought home in moving, understated style” 8/10 – uncut.


Folksinger Vol 2


  1. Samson & Delilah (w/The Fairfi eld Four)
  2. Gallows Pole
  3. When My Baby Left Me
  4. Dry Bones
  5. Walking Boss
  6. On the Road Again (w/The Fairfield Four)
  7. The Cuckoo Bird
  8. Always Lift Him Up And Never Knock Him Down
  9. John Henry
  10. Leavin’ Blues
  11. Take This Hammer (w/The Fairfi eld Four)