Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Brenda Holloway

spellbound: rare and unreleased motown gems

soul music records


Released: 18th Aug 2017

out of stock

this is a sumptuous 33-track set of classic recordings from the  drawn from Motown’s vaults and recorded between 1963-66.

SPELLBOUND has been compiled and produced by long-time Motown expert Paul Nixon, responsible for the successful “Cellarful Of Motown” series, who has carefully selected the tracks on this superb compilation by one of Motown’s most soulful singers. Included here are 9 previously unreleased tracks along with rare cuts that have only been available digitally. Although Motown only issued one LP, Brenda recorded prolifically for the label, with dozens of tracks remaining in the vast Motown vaults until producer Nixon began including tracks on various reissues. included are Notes by renowned UK Motown historian and writer Sharon Davis with quotes from Brenda along with an essay by producer Nixon.


spellbound: rare and unreleased motown gems


  1. Deep Freeze
  2. There's Something On Your Mind
  3. Today I Sing The Blues
  4. Strange Things
  5. Don't Compare Me With Her
  6. Why Don't You Tell The Truth
  7. Baby It Is You
  8. I Don't Want Anybody Perfect
  9. Just Loving You
  10. Lucky My Boy
  11. The Star
  12. This Time Last Summer
  13. You Go Your Way And I'll Go Mine
  14. Don't Stay Away
  15. I'm The Exception To The Rule
  16. I Still Get Butterflies
  17. Can't You Hear Me Knocking
  18. Can't Hold The Feeling Back
  19. Girl On The Run
  20. Have A Little Talk With Myself
  21. I Feel Your Love Growin' On Me
  22. I'm Giving Up
  23. I'm Spellbound
  24. The Lonely Heart And Lonely Eyes Of Lonely Me
  25. What Good Am I Without You
  26. It’s Going All The Way To True True Love
  27. Whenever You Need Me
  28. You Got A Little Of Everything
  29. You Are My Chosen One
  30. My Precious Dreams
  31. Without Love You Lose A Good Feelin'
  32. What Have I Done To Myself
  33. The Land Of Make Believe