Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


A flame my love, a frequency

thrill jockey


Released: 20th Oct 2017


lp + download

Released: 20th Oct 2017


we’ve come to expect cecile schott to charm and beguile with her music, but recently she has added the ability to surprise in the most deft of ways.

she added singing, with lightness and grace, on her fourth album, but here she takes something away in eschewing the viola that once was so part of the dna of her sound. now using completely synthesized instruments, she retains the compositional flair of a classically schooled musician, those keys bubbling and chiming in ways you’ve never quite heard before. the exception is perhaps Kaitlyn Aurelia smith’s unrivalled playing, whose work this album is a kind-of minimalist analogue to. this music, though, has a unpindownable northern European flavour surely informed by some je ne sais quoi in the bones of French artists, making for a wonderful, understated listen. Julia holter and noveller fans also take note.

A flame my love, a frequency


  1. November
  2. Separating
  3. Another World
  4. Winter Dawn
  5. Summer Night (Bat Song)
  6. The Stars Vs Creatures
  7. One Warm Spark
  8. A Flame My Love, A Frequency