Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Birthday Party

junkyard (180g vinyl edition)

drastic plastic

limited 180g lp (hand numbered)

Released: 19th Dec 2011


a dark, twisted masterpiece from 1982, this menacing record was the culmination of the band’s time together & takes their art/psych/blues/punk fusion to outrageous heights.

‘junkyard’ contains some of the birthday party’s most complex & forward thinking tracks, including such firm fan favourites as ‘she’s hit’, ‘hamlet (pow, pow, pow)’, ‘release the bats’, ‘dead joe’ & the title track itself. these songs possess some of the most vivid & brutal imagery from cave, & strikingly original band arrangements that radiate a strange, scuzzy intelligence while remaining astonishingly visceral & frantically energetic.

junkyard (180g vinyl edition)


  1. she's hit
  2. dead joe
  3. the dim locator
  4. hamlet (pow,pow,pow)
  5. several sins
  6. big-jesus-trash-can
  7. kiss me black
  8. 6" gold blade
  9. kewpie doll
  10. junkyard