Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

anais mitchell

young man in america

wilderland records


Released: 13th Feb 2012

out of stock

switching gears from her critically beloved folk opera ‘hadestown’, mitchell returns here to a more traditional solo record.

however, those familiar with ‘hadestown’ will hear its overtones in ‘young man’ - it’s an epic, sprawling tale with characters leaping from the verses as they would from the pages of a novel. mitchell once again enlisted the skills of ‘hadestown’ producer todd sickafoose who assembled some of brooklyn's most sought -after rock & experimental jazz players, including chris thile on mandolin. together they create a sound more reminiscent of a 70s rock record than that of a traditional singer-songwriter. “a remarkable genre-defying record” 4/5 – uncut.

young man in america


  1. Wilderland
  2. Young Man In America
  3. Coming Down
  4. Dyin Day
  5. Venus
  6. He Did
  7. Annmarie
  8. Tailor
  9. Shepherd
  10. You Are Forgiven
  11. Ships