Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

malcolm holcombe

down the river

gypsy eyes music


Released: 3rd Sep 2012


studded with alt-country & straight up legends, but the core of each cut is his heavy yet delicate guitar playing & that voice, growling like a cement truck in low gear or mellowing into a heart-tugging croon.

Emmylou Harris lends background vocals to 'In Your Mercy' & Malcolm duets with Steve Earle on 'Trail of Money'. Darrell Scott plays dobro, banjo and electric guitar, & former Uncle Tupelo & Wilco member Ken Coomer handles drums. Malcolm plays with his bare fingers & his percussive attack makes it easy to overlook the precision with which he plays. "angry, simple, complex & beautiful all rolled into one... I promise you that it will feature in many, many end of year Top 10 Releases of 2012." No Depression.


down the river


  1. Butcher In Town
  2. I Call The Shots
  3. Gone Away At Last
  4. The Crossing
  5. Twisted Arms
  6. The Door
  7. The Empty Jar
  8. In Your Mercy
  9. White Wash Job
  10. Trail Of Money
  11. Down The River