Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

unknown mortal orchestra




Released: 4th Feb 2013


lp + download

Released: 4th Feb 2013


Pulling Pink Floyd, The Family Stone, The Beatles & the Soft Machine through his warped rock ‘n’ roll filter, ruban Nielson has created another blinder to follow up one of our most played & most loved records of 2011.

perfectly marrying the blues-rock of the black keys to the psych-pop of tame impala, with a newly recruited band, ‘II’ builds on the breakbeat, junk shop charm the portland-via-new zealand multi-instrumentalist & songwriter came to be renowned for, locking us into their intoxicating, opiate groove with many of the record's crusty hunks sounding like they could have been excavated from a lost 1960s treasure trove. ‘Monki’ unravels over 7 minutes like the yarn from a stoner’s cardigan with an eye-frying pattern. ‘Dawn’ is a minute of disconcerting noise that stands out between the nooks & crannies of the choruses, guitar solos, groove-heavy bass and drums & closer, 'Secret Xtians’, is a tender observational puzzle that fizzes to a satisfied end. "warm, fuzzy beauty" 8/10 - nme.

matt recommends : "a woozy, gauzy, lo-fi masterpiece of strung out, spacious, mutant psych. Bummer summer vibes."

jez recommends : "In Ruban Nielson is a songwriter and voice that offers so much more beyond the cool, tape-y, 60s production here. For me there has not been a more soulful croon and direct, hook-laden psychedelic pop album this year."



  1. From The Sun
  2. Swim And Sleep (Like A Shark)
  3. So Good At Being In Trouble
  4. One At A Time
  5. The Opposite Of Afternoon
  6. No Need For A Leader
  7. Monki
  8. Dawn
  9. Faded In The Morning
  10. Secret Xtians