Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

neon neon

Praxis Makes Perfect



Released: 29th Apr 2013


limited 2cd

Released: 29th Apr 2013

out of stock

lp + download

Released: 6th May 2013


a musical biopic of italian publisher giangiacomo feltrinelli’s colourful life viewed through the lens of gruff rhys’ original writing & boom bip’s shimmering synth-heavy production.

revisiting the biopic-as-album format accomplished so masterfully on 2008's 'stainless style', boom bip's music complements rhys' unique lyrical themes perfectly once again. after plunging you back in time with the otherworldly opening instrumental, rhys touches on feltrinelli's communist views ('hammer & sickle'), books he published ('dr. zhivago' & 'the leopard'), the time he spent travelling the world meeting many renowned communist leaders ('hoops with fidel') & his suspicious death in 1972 ('ciao feltrinelli'). guests on this album include josh klinghoffer of red hot chilli peppers & cardiff’s cate le bon, plus italian pop sensation sabrina salerno & actress asia argento. argento’s various vocal contributions include a reading from carlo feltrinelli’s senior service biography of his father. deluxe version features a 2nd disc with 4 bonus tracks. "a cohesive record, dipping you into a strange mix of left-wing politics & cheery synth pop" 8/10 - drowned in sound.

Praxis Makes Perfect


Standard CD / CD 1

  1. Praxis Makes Perfect
  2. The Jaguar
  3. Dr. Zhivago
  4. Hoops with Fidel
  5. Hammer & Sickle
  6. Shopping (I Like To)
  7. Mid Century Modern Nightmare
  8. The Leopard
  9. Listen to the Rainbow
  10. Ciao Feltrinelli

Deluxe 2CD bonus tracks

  1. Years of Lead
  2. Fuga in Avanti
  3. Socalism at Sea (Take in the sails, head into the wind)
  4. Non Aligned States