Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


the take off & landing of everything


limited deluxe cd

Released: 10th Mar 2014

out of stock


Released: 10th Mar 2014


gatefold 2lp

Released: 10th Mar 2014


the beauty of this record is that there's no real stand-out stadium sing-a-long anthem - instead we are treated to a complete set that showcases the band's strengths - guy's seductive vocals, by turns powerful & delicate instrumentation & prog-like, unclassic song structures.

6 studio albums in & manchester's finest show no signs of losing their magic as they have created one of the most atmospheric & quietly affecting records of their considerable career. ‘The Take Off and Landing of Everything’ was recorded at peter gabriel's Real World Studios & features several guests including the Hallé Orchestra (‘Manchester’s oldest band’ as Guy affectionately calls them) & tour mate/long term friend Jimi Goodwin of Doves adding backing vocals on ‘New York Morning’. "a resolutely unglamorous prog-influenced band who seem to have taken as their musical starting point the gauzy textures & soulfully bruised but resolutely English vocals of Genesis's 1974 track 'The Carpet Crawlers'" 4/5 - guardian, "a more pared-back, concentrated sound...impressive" 8/10 - dis.

the take off & landing of everything


  1. This Blue World
  2. Charge
  3. Hallelujah Morning (Real Life)
  4. Honey Sun
  5. New York Morning
  6. Fly Boy Blue / Lunette
  7. My Sad Captains
  8. Colour Fields
  9. The Take Off and Landing of Everything
  10. The Blanket of Night