Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

douglas dare




Released: 12th May 2014


With the piano at the core, the London-via-dorset singer-songwriter vocalises his short prose & poems to a backdrop of drums, electronics & brass on his debut album.

The recordings began with finding the perfect piano – a grand piano, battered & bruised, but with a beautiful sound. Flood’s studio provided a treasure trove of gear, including Dare’s favourite new instrument, the Mini Moog. producer/percussionist Fabian Prynn engineered, produced & mixed the record & with just the two of them involved from start to finish, their vision for the album remained clear & unclouded. "The defining feature of Douglas Dare's music is this very understanding that beauty is erratic; that discord, dissonance & unease are as communicative as the traditional romance & comfortable opulence surrounding the piano & indeed the idea of the singer-songwriter at large" - the quietus.



  1. Clockwork
  2. Nile
  3. Repeat
  4. Caroline
  5. Whelm
  6. Unrest
  7. Lungful
  8. Whitewash
  9. Swim
  10. London's Rose