Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Blue Rose Code

The Ballads Of Peckham Rye



Released: 29th Sep 2014



Released: 29th Sep 2014


Ross Wilson, the Edinburgh-born songwriter who labours under that name doesn't write folk songs But having discovered the traditional music of the British Isles whilst in exile down south, he fell in love with what he heard.

Those sounds informed what happened next & as such, this record features a remarkable roll call of musicians from the folk side of the fence, including Karine Polwart, Mattie Foulds, Lau's Aidan O'Rourke & Rachel Newton from The Furrow Collective. it also features two of the Scottish jazz scene's supreme talents in trumpeter Colin Steele & pianist Dave Milligan & on bass, the unclassifiable but unutterably classy Danny Thompson warms & grounds these songs, as only he can. "As sublimely paced as Astral Weeks-era Van Morrison" - Folk Radio UK.

The Ballads Of Peckham Rye


  1. Boscombe Armistice
  2. Silent Drums
  3. Where The Westlin Winds Do Carry Me
  4. True Ways Of Knowing
  5. One Day At A Time
  6. The Right To Be Happy
  7. The Light Of You
  8. Edina
  9. Oh, North
  10. Step 11