Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


the magic

upset the rhythm


Released: 24th May 2016


limited 180g clear lp + download

Released: 24th May 2016

out of stock

hyperactive, energetic pop that manages to blend glam rock, punk and polyrhythms seamlessly, making a weird and wonderful hybrid art rock opus.

there’s no let up here – they chop and change and fuse genres at will, making a glorious cacophony that’s instantly enjoyable. there’s bits of ork records madness in there, moments of dirty projectors-y intricate drum led art pop and heaps of beck like leftfield genius. deerhoof bridge the gap between the complex & technical and pure imagination to make an album that expertly makes you feel like you’re dreaming. “‘The Magic’ proves surreal until the very end, just as promised.” – 8/10 the line of best fit

the magic


  1. The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue
  2. Kafe Mania!
  3. That Ain’t No Life To Me
  4. Life Is Suffering
  5. Criminals Of The Dream
  6. Model Behavior
  7. Learning To Apologize Effectively
  8. Dispossessor
  9. I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire
  10. Acceptance Speech
  11. Patrasche Come Back
  12. Debut
  13. Plastic Thrills
  14. Little Hollywood
  15. Nurse Me