Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Trials of Van Occupanther (10th Anniversary Edition)

bella union

180g gold lp + 7" + download

Released: 28th Oct 2016

out of stock

This much cherished album gets the expanded reissue treatment on its 10th anniversary, complete with reimagined artwork, an accompanying 7” with unreleased tracks, and presented on fancy gold vinyl.

Suffused with a romantic yearning for the simpler life, this was a record pitched between 1871, 1971 and somewhere out of time: between Henry David Thoreau and Neil Young’s ‘After the Gold Rush’, between 1970s Laurel Canyon thinking and a longing for something more mysterious. Rich reserves of wistful melody, dreamy horns, rolling guitars and plaintive pianos reflect its elusive, idiosyncratic narratives. 10 years later, it feels like an indie classic of the era, and this an appropriately beautiful artefact allied to that feeling. “Midlake has built a fragile fantasy world out of pieces of American history, the resonant sounds of churches and small-town music halls, and a basic sense of compassion” A - a.v. club

The Trials of Van Occupanther (10th Anniversary Edition)


  1. Roscoe
  2. Bandits
  3. Head Home
  4. Van Occupanther
  5. Young Bride
  6. Branches
  7. In This Camp
  8. We Gathered in Spring
  9. It Covers the Hillsides
  10. Chasing After Deer
  11. You Never Arrived
  12. Festival (bonus 7")
  13. The Fairest Way (bonus 7")