Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The ECM Recordings



Released: 30th Sep 2016

out of stock

this set brings together the landmark albums 'Music for 18 Musicians', 'Octet/Music for a Large Ensemble/Violin Phase' and 'Tehillim' in a limited edition set to mark the legendary composer's 80th birthday.

Reich himself plays percussion on both 'Music for 18 Musicians' and 'Tehillim'. Originally released in 1978, 1980 and 1982, each of these recordings had a decisive influence which continues to reverberate across musical idioms. The 3-CD box set includes a 44-page booklet with original liner notes by Steve Reich, a new essay by Paul Griffiths, and session photography by Deborah Feingold and Barbara Klemm.

The ECM Recordings


  1. Music for 18 Musicians: Pulse - Sections I-X - Pulse
  2. Music for Large Ensemble
  3. Violin Phase
  4. Octet
  5. Tehillim: Parts I & II
  6. Tehillim: Parts III & IV