Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

john maus

Screen Memories

Ribbon Music


Released: 27th Oct 2017



Released: 27th Oct 2017


very limited (300 only) silver lp

Released: 27th Oct 2017

out of stock

something of a forgotten man of alt-pop, maus reminds us what we’ve been missing with an album of the most glistening synth work you’ve ever heard shaped into a set of moody post-punk nuggets.

this is music of cinematic sweep and esoteric personal themes only masquerading in the clothes of 80s synthpop nostalgia. both his compositional voice and singing voice remain truly unique, which allows his mastery of synthesized polyphony to really flourish. a bit like having ariel pink songs peformed by oneohtrix point never, ‘screen memories’ is a glorious follow-up to 'pitiless censors. also riyl cold cave, the soft moon and dirty beaches. “cohesive and hook-friendly, occupying a space where stately synthpop and obscure progtronica get on down…if you’ve ever wondered what Sisters Of Mercy might sound like if they teamed up with Vangelis, see ‘Teenage Witch’… His best album yet.” – rock sound

Screen Memories


  1. The Combine
  2. Teenage Witch
  3. Touchdown
  4. Walls of Silence
  5. Find Out
  6. Decide Decide
  7. Edge Of Forever
  8. The People Are Missing
  9. Pets
  10. Sensitive Recollections
  11. Over Phantom
  12. Bombs Away