Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Malena Zavala


Yucatan Records

limited signed cd + 'resident exclusive' cassette

Released: 11th May 2018


limited signed lp + 'resident exclusive' cassette

Released: 11th May 2018


from an artist whose musical creativity is matched only by her incredible voice, this debut is shot through with a dreamy haze of warm psych-pop that owes a debt to Beach House, Brian Eno, Tame Impala & Cuban folk musician Silvio Rodriguez.

Her haunting voice is hypnotic, her sensual songs are as much about capturing emotions as they are about telling tales. Set to a backdrop of liquid psych rock & dream pop, ‘Aliso’ explores themes of cultural identity, self-doubt, acceptance, artistic freedom, miscommunication between cultures, & relationships. The unique beauty of ‘Aliso’ lies in its songs having been recorded as they were written, with no boundaries, no set destination, & no rules. “A sublime, hypnotizing experience, Malena Zavala’s ethereal debut album ‘Aliso’ invites us to wander through lush, warm lullabies & hazy daydreams” 9/10 – atwood magazine.



  1. Intro Song
  2. If It Goes
  3. Moon Song
  4. Broken By Two
  5. Aliso
  6. Should I Try
  7. Could You Stay
  8. A Vision That's Changed
  9. Send Out To The Water
  10. I Never Said It

Resident Exclusive (while stocks last)
Cassette version of the album