Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Velvet Hands

The Partys Over

Zen 10 Records


Released: 11th May 2018


blending slacker story-telling and belting guitar riffs reminiscent of The Strokes,, or contemporaries such as The Vaccines, with rousing punk choruses that recall The Clash, these punchy songs musically and lyrically encapsulate the feelings of their young generation.

From the disillusion of punk opener ‘Sick of living’ to the universal tales of toxic relationships and navigating romance with low self-esteem on ‘Games’ and ‘Only Blame Myself’ respectively, through to the tracks such as ‘Curtains Closed’, a slower reflective song of self-doubt and isolation with a contemplative song-writing that belies the band’s young age. Still barely out of their teens, The Velvet Hands were born out of the NME coined ‘Kernow Wave’, Cornwall’s blistering garage-rock scene, and are now a focal point of London’s underground guitar scene.

The Partys Over


  1. Sick of Living
  2. Only Blame Myself
  3. Trains
  4. Curtains Closed
  5. Habit
  6. im me Some Time
  7. I Don’t Mind
  8. Everybody Is Dead
  9. Games
  10. Birthday Blues
  11. Party’s Over
  12. The End