Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

our girl

Stranger Today

cannibal hymns

cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 17th Aug 2018


limited signed 2cd (pre-order)

Expected Release: 17th Aug 2018


lp (pre-order)

Expected Release: 17th Aug 2018


limited orange + black 2lp + very limited indies-only signed print (pre-order)

Expected Release: 17th Aug 2018


cassette (pre-order)

Expected Release: 17th Aug 2018


*** preorder the album on any format to receive 1 free guestlist to their instore + signing Weds 22nd August (you will receive a confirmation email within 24 hours of placing your order )***

***all Preorder's of the OUR GIRL album will be entered into a prize draw to win a SIGNED Test Pressing by the band***.

this fantastic debut captures this dreampowertrio evolving from startling noisiness to sweet songwriting excellence, catapulting them to the company of Courtney Barnett, breeders and beach house in the process. we’ve known that something special happens when these three get together ever since we first laid ears on their early, startlingly noisy live shows. that surprising volume still explodes at times here, for this is a band still in thrall to the racket that stirs when they lock horns. it makes for a thrilling and gorgeous ride through a set of songs with heft, hooks, and heart. “a blissful, dreamy haze that you’ll want to relive again and again.” – Paste Magazine, “Our Girl viewers insist quality of show has plummeted” - Daily Mail Online, “overcast, shoegaze-indebted indie that whips and swirls with uncompromising force.” –

At first, it’s difficult to pinpoint exactly what makes Our Girl so special, or why the Brighton-formed, London-based trio’s music stands out within a busy crowd of fellow guitar-wielding-types. But if an explanation didn’t jump out when they first emerged with a debut EP of mighty fuzz-soaked songs in November 2016, it surfaces with ‘Stranger Today’, a debut album of personal, emotional juggernauts that could have only been made by these three people: Guitarist / vocalist Soph Nathan, bassist Josh Tyler and drummer Lauren Wilson.

Since forming in Nathan and Tyler’s Brighton home four years ago – Wilson joining as a late recruit when she was wowed by a demo of their self-titled debut track, and ‘Stranger Today’’s opener – Our Girl’s members have only had pockets of time to work together. A day booked in a local studio here, a soundcheck there, full-time jobs and other projects meant the three rarely had a concentrated, collective patch. This changed in September 2017, when they stayed in Eve Studios in Stockport for a week, recording with Bill Ryder-Jones. Their week in Stockport became a crucial catalyst for what would follow. Ryder-Jones is a guitar virtuoso himself (“He did stuff neither me or Soph had ever seen anyone do before,” Tyler remarks), and he became an unofficial fourth member of the group.

‘Stranger Today’ is a special debut for several reasons: First, because it’s the sound of a band beginning to grasp their own value and place in the world. Secondly, because you can hear the trio’s hunger to finally get in the same room and put to tape years’ worth of scrapbooks, half-finished ideas, and a slowly-forming feel for how their first album would actually sound. “What band isn’t itching to make their debut? But it’s quite frightening, knowing you’re about to do it,” Wilson remembers.

The real clincher, however, is Our Girl’s dynamic, and how it plays out across ‘Stranger Today’. Best friends in person, the trio share the same close kinship and chemistry on record. On one side is Nathan’s visceral lyricism, which has a habit of detailing and chipping away at precise moments; the first heart-flutter of a new crush; the moment a long-term friendship begins to ebb away. Around her, Tyler and Wilson’s rhythm section carefully mirrors each feeling Nathan conveys. When she sings pointedly about love (‘I Really Like It’), she’s backed by a major-key afterglow. When the subject turns on its head (‘Josephine’), out steps a wall of taut, earth-shaking noise. They each “serve the song,” in Wilson’s words, moving in sync but with their own personal slant. Not least on the closer ‘Boring’, where all restraint is thrown aside and the trio let out one final, violent thrash. They inhabit a space bigger than the first loves, sleepless nights and growing pains that define this record.

Nathan remembers being in Brighton four years ago, shortly after Our Girl formed, and realising, “I was finally in the band I wanted to be in.” Almost half a decade later, and this eureka moment is sewn up on ‘Stranger Today’. It’s the sound of three friends totally at ease in their own space, discontent with being anywhere else; a vibrant document of what it’s like to be young, invigorated and amongst people who feel the same.


Stranger Today


  1. Our Girl
  2. Being Around
  3. In My Head
  4. I Really Like It
  5. Josephine
  6. Two Life
  7. Level
  8. Sub Rosa
  9. I Wish It Was Sunday
  10. Heat
  11. Boring

CD2/LP2 - 'Bedroom Record’ I Really Like It

  1. Being Around
  2. Two Life
  3. Careful
  4. I Wish It Was Sunday
  5. Our Girl (Demo)
  6. I Really Don't Mind
  7. Whatever (Demo)
  8. Josephine (Demo)