Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Prophet Speaks



Released: 7th Dec 2018



Released: 7th Dec 2018


If you enjoy swing, Hammond organ and – most importantly – van, you’ll love the 40th album from the rich-voiced icon.

Here, Van takes on a series of unarguable classics by the likes of John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke and Solomon Burke (among others) and makes them unmistakably his own. Alongside these reinterpretations, this album features six phenomenal new original compositions. “It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.” this again finds Van working with the incredible multi-instrumentalist Joey DeFrancesco.

The Prophet Speaks


  1. Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From
  2. Dimples
  3. Got To Go Where The Love Is
  4. Laughin And Clownin
  5. 5 am Greenwich Mean Time
  6. Gotta Get You Off My Mind
  7. Teardrops
  8. I Love The Life I Live
  9. Worried Blues / Rollin And Tumblin
  10. Ain’t Gonna Moan No More
  11. Love Is A Five Letter Word
  12. Love Is Hard Work
  13. Spirit Will Provide
  14. The Prophet Speaks