Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Various Artists (Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garcia, Mala, Kwake Bass)


the vinyl factory

limited edition heavyweight 180g lp

Released: 31st May 2019


out of stock

exploring themes around identity, representation and social inequality, this compilation collects seven collaborations inspired by the life and work of Jean-Michel Basquiat, pairing ascendant musicians to create a genre-defying compilation of richly fertile creativity.

spanning genres and eras, touching on jazz, experimental electronic, post-punk, dub and ambient influences, this paints a diverse picture of the UK’s expanding underground sound. the album features Shabaka Hutchings, Kojey Radical, Wu-Lu, Nubya Garcia, Lex Amor, Ego Ella May, LayFullstop, Moroka, AJ Kwame, Lord Tusk, Roxanne Tataei, Kz, Mala, Joe Armon-Jones, Confucius MC, Kwake Bass, Maxwell Owin & Coby Sey.



  1. Wu-Lu, Lex Amor, Ego Ella May – ‘Legend’
  2. LayFullstop, Moroka, AJ Kwame – ‘Broadcast By Chocolate’
  3. Lord Tusk ft. Roxanne Tataei – ‘Know Ways’
  4. Kojey Radical, Shabaka Hutchings – ‘No Gangster’ (Produced by Kz)
  5. Mala, Joe Armon-Jones, Nubya Garcia – ‘Scratch & Erase’
  6. =CoN+KwAkE= – ‘Same Ol Samo’
  7. Maxwell Owin & Coby Sey – ‘Response to Michel’