Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Arab Strap

The Week Never Starts Round Here (2019 reissue)

Chemikal Underground’s

limited edition lp + download (500 only)

Released: 6th Sep 2019

out of stock

Twenty three years after it first saw the light of day, Arab Strap’s debut album The Week Never Starts Round Here has been remastered and will see a late summer release.

Recorded on the outskirts of Glasgow at MCM where labelmates Mogwai and The Delgados also recorded their debuts and which would become the first iteration of Chemikal Underground’s sister operation Chem 19 the master tapes have been meticulously refreshed by original recording engineer Paul Savage The Week Never Starts Round Here contains arguably Arab Strap’s best known song, ‘The First Big Weekend’, which they wrote during a B side session after the album was supposedly finished. Although the prime lyrical concerns are typical of the record’s twentysomething creators alcohol, relationships, going out Moffat repudiates any notion that the album was sloppily conceived. “We always had a sober and professional approach to recording,” he says. “You’re not there to fuck about you’re there to work, and studio time is expensive.” It’s a very personal, almost insular record,” says Moffat, summing up The Week Never Starts Round Here . “It has a very distinct character and is unique, which is rare.” “It’s a funny wee thing,” adds Middleton. “I’ll always love it because it’s our first, but also because it’s naive and cheeky. ‘Real’ musicians probably hate it, but its strength is its lack of technicality.”

The Week Never Starts Round Here (2019 reissue)


  1. Coming Down
  2. The Clearing
  3. Driving
  4. Gourmet
  5. I Work In A Saloon
  6. Wasting
  7. General Plea To A Girlfriend
  8. The First Big Weekend
  9. Kate Moss
  10. Little Girls
  11. Phone Me
  12. Tonight
  13. Blood
  14. Deeper