Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Laura Marling

A Creature I Don't Know



Released: 12th Sep 2011


deluxe 2cd

Released: 2nd Apr 2012

out of stock

lp (uk pressing)

Released: 2nd Apr 2012

out of stock

a husky voice, acoustic guitar & a gift for quirky, hooky folk songs, her stunning lp now comes with a 16 song live cd.

she has bolstered her pretty nu-folk sound with heavier instrumentation & a touch of jazziness (but nothing clumsy or unnecessary) but this is still very recognisably an album that belongs to this increasingly less timid songstress. there’s nothing messy or complicated here – marling, a guitar, nice production, a few additional instruments joining the mix. there’s more than a touch of joni mitchell’s influence but she sounds so relaxed & in control of her own sound that comparisons are unnecessary. “a prodigious talent finds new intensity” 4/5 album of the month – mojo.

deluxe edition artwork:

A Creature I Don't Know


  1. The Muse
  2. I Was Just A Card
  3. Don't Ask Me Why
  4. Salinas
  5. The Beast
  6. Night After Night
  7. My Friends
  8. Rest In The Bed
  9. Sophia
  10. All My Rage

deluxe edition cd2 tracklist:

  1. I Was Just a Card (Live from York Minster)
  2. The Muse (Live from York Minster)
  3. Ghosts (Live from York Minster)
  4. Don't Ask Me Why (Live from York Minster)
  5. Salinas (Live from York Minster)
  6. The Beast (Live from York Minster)
  7. Goodbye England (Covered in Snow) [Live from York Minster]
  8. Blues Run the Game (Live from York Minster)
  9. Night Terror (Live from York Minster)
  10. Flicker and Fail (Live from York Minster)
  11. Alpha Shallows (Live from York Minster)
  12. What He Wrote (Live from York Minster)
  13. My Friends (Live from York Minster)
  14. Sophia (Live from York Minster)
  15. Rambling Man (Live from York Minster)
  16. All My Rage (Live from York Minster)