Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

(sandy) alex g

House of Sugar

Domino Records


Released: 13th Sep 2019


Limited indies-only heavyweight purple lp + download

Released: 13th Sep 2019


lp + download

Released: 13th Sep 2019


a songwriter of incredible ingenuity, giannascoli ferries us into intoxicating scenery rich in hooky lo-fi melodies & constantly shifting textures.

For his ninth record, he worked closely with Jacob Portrait, who mixed both ‘Rocket’ & 2015’s ‘Beach Music’ & helped to balance each of ‘House of Sugar’s dense, multi-faceted tracks. As the product of extended focus & planning, ‘House of Sugar’ emerges as Giannascoli’s most meticulous, cohesive album yet: a statement of artistic purpose, showing off his ear for both persistent earworms & shifting textures & the out-there sonic adventurism that’s made previous (Sandy) Alex G records so singular. “Banjo trills, violins & country-laced acoustic tales bookended ‘Rocket’, with the off-kilter cuts constrained to the middle. On ‘House of Sugar’, Giannascoli borrows from that structural imprint but this time comes armed with melodies you swear you’ve known your whole life” 8/10 – nme.

House of Sugar


  1. Walk Away
  2. Hope
  3. Southern Sky
  4. Gretel
  5. Taking
  6. Near
  7. Project 2
  8. Bad Man
  9. Sugar
  10. In My Arms
  11. Cow
  12. Crime
  13. SugarHouse (Live)