Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

julia kent

Green and Grey (black Friday 2019)

the leaf label

Green and grey 2LP + download

Released: 29th Nov 2019


Green and Grey explores the intersections between the human world and the natural world, the melding of the technological and the organic using Kent’s now trademark looped and layered cello, electronics, and field recordings.

It references the patterns and repetitions that exist in nature often mirrored in human creations and also the complexity and fragility of our relationships, with one another and with the world that surrounds us. Without collaborators - other than the insects, weather, and wind sounds that create a sort of exoskeleton for the music - she has created an intensely personal landscape that references the way nature, however subverted and endangered by our modern world, still retains its power. To coincide with the release, Julia will tour the UK on a double bill with Erased Tapes saxophonist Daniel Thorne. Her performances feature an exclusive collaboration with acclaimed French video artist Antoine Schmitt. Originally released in 2011, Green and Grey gets the long awaited vinyl treatment on The Leaf Label The reissue features a reinterpretation of the original artwork by Split Julia Kent released her fifth solo studio album Temporal in 2018 – a meditation on the transitory and fragile nature of existence She has built a dedicated fanbase with extensive European and North American touring, after first coming to prominence with Rasputina and Antony and the Johnsons In demand as a musical collaborator and composer for film, theatre and dance, she has recently worked with Nadja, Markus Guentner, Western Skies Motel, Library Tapes, and Sophie Hutchings (for Gregory Euclide’s Thesis project)

Green and Grey (black Friday 2019)


  1. Pleiades
  2. Ailanthus
  3. The Toll
  4. Acquario
  5. Tithonos
  6. Guarding the Invitations
  7. Overlook
  8. A Spire
  9. Missed
  10. Dear Mr. Twombly
  11. Wake Low
  12. Oleander [unreleased bonus track]
  13. Ground [from Last Day in July]
  14. Last Day in July [from Last Day in July]
  15. Carapace [from Last Day in July]
  16. Salt Point [unreleased bonus track]