Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


The Thing (1982 Original Soundtrack)


super limited 'snow white' lp + poster

Released: 17th Mar 2017


out of stock

here’s something utterly incredible – the iconic score to possibly carpenter’s best film that has Morricone doing his best doom-laden-synth carpenter impression.

‘THE THING’ is a landmark musical composition that is cold, dark, minimal, and effective. Considered to be John Carpenter’s directorial masterpiece, ‘THE THING’ is praised as one of the greatest films of its genre by both fans and critics. Starring Kurt Russel and A. Wilford Brimley, ‘THE THING’ follows a team of researchers in Antarctica as they are infiltrated by a parasitic extraterrestrial life form that assimilates other organisms and then imitates them. The classic soundtrack composed by Ennio Morricone effectively captures the cold, isolated tone of the story and film, and marks one of the few John Carpenter directed films that Carpenter did not score himself. Waxwork Records worked for two years to ensure that such a highly anticipated and sought after vinyl soundtrack re-issue would meet and exceed expectations of the biggest fan of John Carpenter and his sci-fi / horror tour de force that is THE THING. Features include the complete Ennio Morricone soundtrack re-mastered from the original master tapes, 180 Gram White-Snow colored vinyl, all new artwork by Justin Erickson of Phantom City Creative, deluxe heavyweight packaging including satin coated old-style gatefold jackets with UV spot-gloss, and an an 11” x 22” poster.

The Thing (1982 Original Soundtrack)


  1. Humanity (Part 1)
  2. Shape
  3. Contamination
  4. Bestiality
  5. Solitude
  6. Eternity
  7. Wait
  8. Humanity (Part 2)
  9. Sterilization
  10. Despair