Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


the cry of love (2014 remaster)

Experience Hendrix/Legacy Recordings


Released: 15th Sep 2014


180g gatefold lp

Released: 20th Oct 2014


Originally released in 1971, and last issued on CD in 1992, 'The Cry Of Love' was compiled and mixed by Hendrix's longtime engineer Eddie Kramer and Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell.

'The Cry Of Love' is being reissued on vinyl, reintroduced with original album art and track orders and remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog masters. The bulk of these tracks were recorded between December 1969 and the summer of 1970 at Electric Lady Studios in New York, and were intended to be part of an ambitious double LP tentatively titled 'First Rays of the New Rising Sun'. Commercially, 'The Cry Of Love' was a huge success, reaching #3 in the U.S. and #2 in the UK, and spawned favourites such as ''Angel',' 'Freedom', and 'Ezy Ryder'. While Mitch Mitchell and bassist Billy Cox comprised the rhythm section on the lion's share of the tracks, Buddy Miles played drums on 'Ezy Ryder' and Noel Redding played bass on 'My Friend' (recorded in 1968, before his departure from the Jimi Hendrix Experience).

the cry of love (2014 remaster)


  1. Freedom
  2. Drifting
  3. Ezy Ryder
  4. Night Bird Flying
  5. My Friend
  6. Straight Ahead
  7. Astro Man
  8. Angel
  9. In From the Storm
  10. Belly Button Window