Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

arthur russell

World Of Echo

Rough Trade Records

limited cd

Released: 11th Nov 2013


out of stock

originally released on lp in 1986, russel's seminal classic is a deeply intimate & meditative work of awe-inspiring grace & remains a timeless work of sublime beauty.

remastered from arthur’s pristine original 1/4″ sequenced masters, this hugely evocative album, comprised of experimental cello & vocal songs effected with reverb & delays, sounds like nothing you have heard or will ever hear. 18 tracks are featured, including drumless versions of his disco classics ‘let’s go swimming’, ‘tree house’ & ‘wax the van’ along with four previously unreleased tracks from ‘sketches from world of echo’. arthur’s aim was to achieve what he calls “the most vivid rhythmic reality”. this revised artwork edition is in a limited run of 500 copies.

World Of Echo


  1. Tone Bone Kone
  2. Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun / Let’s See
  3. Answers Me
  4. Being It
  5. Place I Know / Kid Like You
  6. She’s The Star / I Take This Time
  7. Tree House
  8. See-Through
  9. Hiding Your Present From You
  10. Wax The Van
  11. All-Boy All-Girl
  12. Lucky Cloud
  13. Tower Of Meaning / Rabbit’s Ear / Home Away From Home
  14. Let’s Go Swimming
  15. The Name Of The Next Song
  16. Happy Ending
  17. Canvas Home
  18. Our Last Night Together