Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.


release (2017 reissue)


further listening edition 3cd

Released: 28th Jul 2017


out of stock

remastered 180g lp

Released: 28th Jul 2017


out of stock

‘Release’, which features Johnny Marr on guitar, entered the top ten in the UK album charts on its release in 2002.

this reissue features a remastered version of the original classic album, and an extensive booklet in which Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe discuss each song, illustrated with many archive photographs. “retains their greatest attributes while giving them a new spin, and it makes for the best Pet Shop Boys album in nearly ten years.” 8/10  - allmusic

***cd version includes the classic album remastered, plus 2 cds of rare bonus material, including unreleased songs ‘Motoring’, ‘The night is a time to explore who you are’, ‘Run, girl, run’ and ‘Reunion’, as well as previously-unreleased John Peel versions of ‘A powerful friend’ and ‘If looks could kill’ and a previously-unreleased cover version of Gilbert O’Sullivan’s “Alone again, naturally” featuring Elton John.***

***vinyl reissue of the classic record ’ that features Johnny Marr on guitar, and entered the top ten in the UK album charts on its release in 2002***

release (2017 reissue)


cd 1 / lp

  1. Home and dry
  2. I get along
  3. Birthday Boy
  4. London
  5. E-mail
  6. The samurai in autumn
  7. Love is a catastrophe
  8. Here
  9. The night I fell in love
  10. You choose

cd 2

  1. Between two islands
  2. Searching for the face of Jesus
  3. Time on my hands
  4. Motoring (demo)*
  5. Love life**
  6. Transparent
  7. Sexy Northerner
  8. The night is a time to explore who you are (demo)*
  9. Closer to Heaven (slow version)
  10. Run, girl, run (demo)*
  11. I didn’t get where I am today
  12. Always
  13. Home and dry (ambient mix)
  14. Bright young things (demo)*
  15. Kazak*
  16. A powerful friend (John Peel version)*
  17. If looks could kill (John Peel version)*

cd 3

  1. Try it (I’m in love with a married man)
  2. Here (PSB new extended mix)
  3. If looks could kill
  4. A powerful friend**
  5. Party song
  6. No excuse (demo)*
  7. Blue on blue
  8. Jack and Jill party (demo)*
  9. Baby (demo)
  10. Flamboyant (original demo)
  11. Miracles
  12. Flamboyant (7” mix)
  13. Numb (demo)
  14. In private (featuring Elton John)
  15. Alone again, naturally (featuring Elton John)*
  16. Reunion (Electro mix)*
  17. Bright young things
  18. We’re the Pet Shop Boys
  19. It’s a sin (Barfly version)

* Previously unreleased

** Previously unreleased on CD