other titles...


Regards/Uklony dla Boguslaw Schaeffer

LP - £23.99 | Buy
Matmos are one of the most prominent experimental electronic artists working today, crafting work by creating new conceptual frameworks and immediately testing ...
Return to Archive
  1. Good Morning Electronics
  2. Injection Basic Sound
  3. Mud- Dauber Wasp
  4. Music or Noise?
  5. Why?
  6. Lend Me Your Ears
  7. Return to Archive
  8. The Way Japanese Beetles Sound to a Rose
  9. Going to Sleep


Return to Archive

Smithsonian Folkways
  • LP (pre-order)

    Expected Release: 3rd May 2024


Matmos' 14th album is constructed entirely from the "non-musical" recordings released by Folkways Records in the mid-20th century.

It contains sounds sourced from dozens of LPs, from Sounds of North American Frogs to Speech After the Removal of the Larynx, Sounds of Insects to Voices of Satellites, Sounds of Medicine to Sounds of the Junk Yard. Drew Daniel and M.C. Schmidt were given unprecedented access to the label's fabled archive at the Smithsonian Institution and encouraged to repurpose and rework the source material however they liked. The resulting album illuminates the radical, inquisitive, and poetic aspects of the original recordings, extracting the latent moments of creative revelation on records intended primarily for the backroom shelves of universities and libraries. Some tracks cycle through source material at a rate of dozens of samples per minute, while others sit with specific recordings for their duration. Released to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the founding of Folkways Records by Moses Asch and Marian Distler, Return to Archive is a whimsical, entrancing, and at times unsettling traversal of what Asch called the "World of Sound."