other titles...

See also...

Julianna Barwick

Healing Is A Miracle

lp + download - £19.99 | Buy
cd - £10.99 | Buy

love record stores edition - lp + 12"x12" prints - £22.99 | Buy
as its title suggests, barwick's angelic vocals and rejuvenating electronic oceans capture the sensation of wounds knitting back together and relief from pa...
a winged victory for the sullen

A WINGED VICTORY FOR THE SULLEN (love record stores 2021)

love record stores 2021 - clear lp (400 only) - £22.99
a reissue of 'A Winged Victory For The Sullen', the first installment of the collaboration between Stars Of The Lid member Adam Wiltzie and LA composer ...
  1. Julianna Barwick - Star Ray
  2. Sigur Rós - Rembihnútur (Liminal re-work by Paul Corley)
  3. A Winged Victory for the Sullen - Beethoven 250
  4. Laraaji - Illusion of Time
  5. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith - Mt Baker
  6. Ryuichi Sakamoto - Aqua (from Playing Piano for the Isolated)
  7. James Heather - And She Came Home (Strings Version)
  8. Suzanne Ciani - Morning Spring
  9. Nailah Hunter - Sadko
  10. Helena Hauff - Thalassa
  11. Mira Calix - danaïdes
  12. Daniel Pemberton & FSOL - Behind the Eyes
  13. Skee Mask - CG Drip
  14. Coldcut - The Fire Burns Out
  15. Obay Alsharani - Dream Within a Dream
  16. David Wenngren - Pianoise
  17. Steve Roach - The Drift Home

Coldcut / various artists


Ahead Of Our Time
  • limited 140g 2lp (unmixed) - 1 per customer

    Released: 19th Nov 2021

    out of stock

A rollcall of modern ambient’s most dazzling stars.

Where else would you find Skee Mask rubbing shoulders with Ryuichi Sakamoto, Suzanne Ciani & Nailah Hunter?

Awash with soothing melodies from total ambient pedigree that will rub the aches from your limbs and the worries from your soul – it's the musical equivalent of a relaxing spa weekend. Featuring an incredible lineup of new ambient and classical recordings, all released for the first time as part of the ‘@0’ compilation. with music from: Ryuichi Sakamoto, Suzanne Ciani, Steve Roach, Juliana Barwick, Imogen Heap—whose ‘The Happy Song’ is remixed by Coldcut—A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Laraaji, Sigur Rós—with close collaborator of the band Paul Corley providing a ‘Liminal’ re-work of ‘Rembihnútur’—Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Helena Hauff, Skee Mask, Daniel Pemberton & FSOL, James Heather, Specimens, Nailah Hunter, Rovo & System 7, Ned Scott (The Egg), Noodreem, Mira Calix, Obay Alsharani, David Wenngren, ill-esha, Yak Herder, NDiPA X Flex Machina, Double Cushion, Irresistible Force, FRKTL, ANNA and Coldcut themselves.


Speaking with Matt Black (one half of Coldcut) on the project and its creation he explains that: “‘@0’ refers to that liminal state experienced many times where my mental and emotional stability was not solid and it felt like teetering on a zero axis about to fall into depression, or more rarely, mania. I found that ambient music, by making no psychic demands, often opened some space and with its soft fascination, subtly raised the energy, helping to avoid that downward spiral and navigate slowly up and out. @0 is a balance point.”