other titles...


Heading For The Door

very limited 7" (500 only) - £9.99 | Buy
‘Heading For The Door’ is a self-confrontation exercise delivered via the airy, heartfelt & viscerally blissful indie pop that Royel Otis have b...
Pratts & Pain
  1. Adored
  2. Fried Rice
  3. Foam
  4. Sonic Blue
  5. Heading For The Door
  6. Velvet
  7. IHYSM
  8. Molly
  9. Daisy Chain
  10. Glory to Glory
  11. Always Always
  12. Big Ciggie


Pratts & Pain

  • limited clear lp

    Released: 16th Feb 2024

  • CD

    Released: 22nd Mar 2024


Across their debut album, Royel Otis swing between melodic, pop-inspired indie and woozy psych, but it never feels tied to one lane.

As soon as one style or mood has outstayed its welcome, they handbrake turn into psychedelic weirdness or dissonant noise, keeping everybody on their toes. After the table was laid on the two EPs, 'PRATTS & PAIN' brings everything from the band's history together on a record that's reverent towards their beginnings but unafraid to push forwards into new sounds. This loose, open formula for what makes a Royel Otis song is written all over 'PRATTS & PAIN', an album defined by its sense of fun and adventure.

On the tracks 'Velvet' and 'Big Ciggie', Carey's 11-year-old nephew Archie appears on drums, and a spontaneous energy ran through the sessions, one which can be heard across the album. On first single 'Adored', they master the perfect indie-pop hit, while 'Sonic Blue' keeps this underlying energy but sets screeching guitars over the top. 'Velvet', meanwhile, has the stomping energy of Talking Heads, while 'Molly' is an unsettling and deeply atmospheric slow jam. Whatever sonic template the music might be based on though, the crux of Royel Otis comes back to a foundational DNA of mutual trust. Royel says: "We have fun together, and it's not difficult. I trust what Otis thinks and what he does, and I back it. If you back each other, something good comes from it."