Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Little Scream

Speed Queen

Merge Records


Released: 25th Oct 2019


limited gold metallic swirl lp + download

Released: 25th Oct 2019


Fantastically executed modern song writing in the vein of Damien Jurado – for her third album Little Scream has tapped into the wave of hazy, post war on drugs Americana to great effect.

‘Speed Queen’ began as bits of prose written while touring her last album across North America—observing the slow entropy of the US, ruminating on her own low-income upbringing in a flyover state, and, as she says, “taking it all in from the privileged position of being a new Canadian.” Optimism in the face of harsh reality is a theme that has always run through Little Scream’s work, whether personal or political. ‘Speed Queen’ is a powerful reflection of that hard-won hope. “a strong album that defiantly juxtaposes the warmth of Americana with the starkness of its lyrical matter.” – back seat mafia

Speed Queen


  1. Dear Leader
  2. One Lost Time
  3. Switchblade
  4. Disco Ball
  5. Still Life
  6. Forces of Spring
  7. No More Saturday Night
  8. Speed Queen
  9. Don’t Wait for It
  10. Privileged Child