Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Groundhogs

Thank Christ for the Bomb (2019 Standard Edition)

fire records

gatefold lp + download

Released: 25th Oct 2019


A hugely influential album cited as the embryo for punk, grunge and beyond.

Featuring epic 1970 concepts from this far reaching trio much praised by Underworld’s Karl Hyde, Captain Sensible, Stephen Malkmus and a host of others. ‘Thank Christ For The Bomb’ is a visionary tale of cold war fear, alienation and everyday drama. “This is a masterpiece!” New Musical Express // A thinking man’s rumination on alienation, the album is a game of two halves; side one tackling the thermo nuclear threat while side two traces riches to rags alienation in everyday London. First of a trio of ground-breaking albums that steered the band from the Blues into a heavier, more prog-based sound and a true reflection of their much-praised live sound.

Thank Christ for the Bomb (2019 Standard Edition)


  1. Strange Town
  2. Darkness Is No Friend
  3. Soldier
  4. Thank Christ for the Bomb.
  5. Ship On The Ocean
  6. Garden
  7. Status People
  8. Rich Man, Poor Man
  9. Eccentric Man