Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

David Bowie

LOVING THE ALIEN (1983 – 1988)


deluxe 15lp + hardbackbook boxset

Released: 12th Oct 2018


limited 11 cd boxset

Released: 12th Oct 2018


out of stock

the fourth in a series of box sets spanning his legendary career, this includes newly remastered versions of David’s most commercially successful period & an exclusive new production of the 1987 album ‘NEVER LET ME DOWN’.

The new production features new instrumentation by previous Bowie collaborators, as well as a string quartet with arrangements by Nico Muhly & a guest cameo by Laurie Anderson. The project was envisioned by bowie back in 2008. There’s also the never before released ‘SERIOUS MOONLIGHT’ 1983 live album recorded in Vancouver. Also included is the ‘GLASS SPIDER (LIVE MONTREAL ’87)’ album ***(making its debut on vinyl)***. Exclusive to this set is ‘RE:CALL 4’ & ‘DANCE’. The former a new compilation featuring remastered single versions, non-album singles, album edits, b-sides & songs featured on soundtracks. ‘DANCE’ features 12 contemporaneous remixes, some of which appear on this format for the first time. The set’s accompanying book features rarely seen & previously unpublished photos, well as historical press reviews & technical notes about the albums.

Image result for David Bowie - Loving The Alien 1983 - 1988 Box Sets

LOVING THE ALIEN (1983 – 1988)



  1. Modern Love
  2. China Girl
  3. Let’s Dance
  4. Without You
  5. Ricochet
  6. Criminal World
  7. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
  8. Shake It


  1. Look Back In Anger
  2. “Heroes”
  3. What In The World
  4. Golden Years
  5. Fashion
  6. Let’s Dance
  7. Breaking Glass
  8. Life On Mars?
  9. Sorrow
  10. Cat People (Putting Out Fire)
  11. China Girl
  12. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
  13. Rebel Rebel
  14. White Light / White Heat
  15. Station To Station
  16. Cracked Actor
  17. Ashes To Ashes
  18. Space Oddity/Band Introduction
  19. Young Americans
  20. Fame
  21. Modern Love


  1. Loving The Alien
  2. Don’t Look Down
  3. God Only Knows
  4. Tonight
  5. Neighborhood Threat
  6. Blue Jean
  7. Tumble And Twirl
  8. I Keep Forgettin’
  9. Dancing With The Big Boys 


  1. Day-In Day-Out
  2. Time Will Crawl
  3. Beat Of Your Drum
  4. Never Let Me Down
  5. Zeroes
  6. Glass Spider
  7. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love)
  8. New York’s In Love
  9. ’87 And Cry
  10. Bang


  1. Day-In Day-Out
  2. Time Will Crawl
  3. Beat Of Your Drum
  4. Never Let Me Down
  5. Zeroes
  6. Glass Spider
  7. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) (ft Laurie Anderson)
  8. New York’s In Love
  9. 87 & Cry
  10. Bang Bang
  11. David Bowie 1987 logo etching (15lp boxset)


  1. Up The Hill Backwards
  2. Glass Spider
  3. Day-In Day-Out
  4. Bang Bang
  5. Absolute Beginners
  6. Loving The Alien
  7. China Girl
  8. Rebel Rebel
  9. Fashion
  10. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
  11. All The Mad Men
  12. Never Let Me Down
  13. Big Brother
  14. ‘87 And Cry
  15. “Heroes”
  16. Sons Of The Silent Age
  17. Time Will Crawl / Band Introduction
  18. Young Americans
  19. Beat Of Your Drum
  20. The Jean Genie
  21. Let’s Dance
  22. Fame
  23. Time
  24. Blue Jean
  25. Modern Love


  1. Shake It (Re-mix aka Long Version)
  2. Blue Jean (Extended Dance Mix)
  3. Dancing With The Big Boys (Extended Dance Mix)
  4. Tonight (Vocal Dance Mix)
  5. Don't Look Down (Extended Dance Mix)
  6. Loving The Alien (Extended Dub Mix)
  7. Tumble And Twirl (Extended Dance Mix)
  8. Underground (Extended Dance Mix)
  9. Day-In Day-Out (Groucho Mix)
  10. Time Will Crawl (Dance Crew Mix)
  11. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) (12” mix)
  12. Never Let Me Down (Dub/Acapella)


  1. Let's Dance (single version)
  2. China Girl (single version)
  3. Modern Love (single version)
  4. This Is Not America (The theme from ‘The Falcon And The Snowman’) - David Bowie / Pat Metheny Group
  5. Loving The Alien (re-mixed version)
  6. Don't Look Down (re-mixed version)
  7. Dancing In The Street (Clearmountain mix) - David Bowie and Mick Jagger
  8. Absolute Beginners (from Absolute Beginners)
  9. That’s Motivation (from Absolute Beginners)
  10. Volare (from Absolute Beginners)
  11. Labyrinth Opening Titles/Underground (from Labyrinth)
  12. Magic Dance (from Labyrinth)
  13. As The World Falls Down (from Labyrinth)
  14. Within You (from Labyrinth)
  15. Underground (from Labyrinth
  16. When The Wind Blows (single version) (from When The Wind Blows)
  17. Day-In Day-Out (single version)
  18. Julie
  19. Beat Of Your Drum (vinyl album edit)
  20. Glass Spider (vinyl album edit)
  21. Shining Star (Makin’ My Love) (vinyl album edit)
  22. New York’s In Love (vinyl album edit)
  23. ‘87 And Cry (vinyl album edit)
  24. Bang Bang (vinyl album edit)
  25. Time Will Crawl (single version)
  26. Girls (extended edit)
  27. Never Let Me Down (7” remix edit)
  28. Bang Bang (live - promotional mix
  29. Tonight (live) Tina Turner with David Bowie
  30. Let's Dance (live) Tina Turner with David Bowie