Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

Massive Attack




Released: 20th Apr 1998



Released: 1st Dec 2014


massive attack finally returned in 1998 with 'mezzanine', a record immediately announcing not only that the group was back, but that they'd recorded a set of songs just as singular & revelatory as on their debut, almost a decade back.

augmenting their samples & keyboards with a studio band, the album opens with ‘angel,’ a stark production featuring pointed beats & a distorted bassline that frames the vocal (by group regular horace andy) & a two-minute flame-out with raging guitars. ‘risingson’ is a dense, dark feature for massive attack themselves (on production as well as vocals), with a kitchen sink's worth of dubby effects & reverb. ‘teardrop’ introduces another genius collaboration -- with elizabeth fraser from cocteau twins while ‘inertia creeps’ could well be the highlight, another feature for just the core threesome, with eerie atmospherics, fuzz-tone guitars & a wealth of effects.



  1. Angel
  2. Risingson
  3. Teardrop
  4. Inertia Creeps
  5. Exchange
  6. Dissolved Girl
  7. Man Next Door
  8. Black Milk
  9. Mezzanine
  10. Group Four
  11. (Exchange)