Resident Music

can’t find what you want? drop us a line – we’re friendly people in a real shop & happy to help.

The Waterboys

Modern Blues



Released: 19th Jan 2015


2LP + download

Released: 19th Jan 2015


out of stock

an electric, soulful, bold, freewheeling rock'n'roll record with a skinful of killer new songs, recorded in Nashville, produced by Mike Scott & mixed by the great Bob Clearmountain.

Ralph Salmins, a mainstay on drums for the past four years, appears alongside the talismanic Steve Wickham, who weaves a dizzying fuzz fiddle spell on several tracks. Fresh to the ranks are Memphis keyboard player “Brother” Paul Brown & David Hood, legendary bassist from Muscle Shoals, Alabama. Additional lead guitars are played by 2013 US Waterboy Jay Barclay & Austin soul guitarist Zach Ernst. for fans of the war on drugs (who obviously reference the waterboys in their own music) or the decemberists. "brings plenty of psychedelic soul touches to the Waterboys’ usual gumbo of Celtic folk, gospel, country & rock" - the arts desk

Modern Blues


  1. Destinies Entwined
  2. November Tale
  3. Still A Freak
  4. I Can See Elvis
  5. The Girl Who Slept For Scotland
  6. Rosalind (You Married The Wrong Guy)
  7. Beautiful Now
  8. Nearest Thing To Hip
  9. Long Strange Golden Road
  10. Long Strange Golden Road (Acoustic Demo) (vinyl only track)